Focus Groups to inform the development of Overarching National Standards for the Care and Support of Children using Health and Social Care Services

HIQA and the Mental Health Commission (MHC) are in the process of developing Overarching National Standards for the Care and Support of Children using Health and Social Care Services. The scope of the standards includes all health and social care services working with children, including primary care services, acute services, mental health services, services for children with disabilities, as well as children’s social services.

The team are planning to conduct a number of focus groups with staff working in health and social care services for children over the coming months to inform the development of the standards. These sessions will commence the week of 22 February and will be hosted online and each focus group will be for a duration of approximately one hour

 To ensure that the widest range of views and experience informs the standards, they are seeking social care worker nominees from different regions and a mix of grades, including:

  • 8 nominees from designated centres for children with disabilities (from a mix of residential, respite, and day services provided by the HSE, Section 38,

Please see below a briefing document about the standards and the focus groups.

Briefing Doc for focus group participants

If you are interested in taking part in the focus group please contact Charlotte Burke at  (


Kind regards,


Charlotte Burke

CPD Coordinator

Share this: