Disability SIG

Disability SIG

For more information on Social Care Ireland CPD contact specialinterestgroupdisability@gmail.com.
For more information on SCI Disability SIG meeting minutes

Current Disability Group Members

Antoinette Behan

Chair, Disability Special Interest Group

Antoinette is the current disability sector representative on the Irish Association of Social Care Workers National Executive.

Christine Barretto

Secretary, Disability Special INterest Group

Christine is the current Disability Representative on the Irish Association of Social Care Workers. As one of the founding members of the Disability SIG she now serves as the secretary. Christine holds an honours degree in Applied Social Studies and has worked as a Social care Worker for 15 years in the Disability Sector.

Christine has completed the Supported Self Directed Living practitioners training and has a particular interest in the area of mental health and building capacity. Also a Shop steward for SIPTU Christine is a competent advocate for fairness and is currently undertaking a degree in industrial relations. Also a MAPA instructor, she holds qualifications in Governance, Risk & Compliance and Supervisory management. Christine has an avid and active interest in Developing professionally.

Grace O`Flynn

Vice Secretary, Disability Special Interest Group

Amy Mcgrath

Vice-Chair, Disability SIG

Carmel Shaughessy

Communications Officer, Disability SIG

Miceal Burke

Disability SIG Member

Miceal graduated from Institute of Technology Blanchardstown with B.A. (Hons) in Applied Social Studies in Social Care in 2014. Since December 2009, Miceal has been a Group Leader with CASA providing respite and social activities for adults with disabilities. He was co-opted as Student Representative on to National

Executive of IASCW in February 2012 and elected Vice-President of IASCW at the 2014 AGM. In addition to this position, Miceal was also elected Hon. Secretary of IASCW at the 2015 AGM. In addition, he currently holds the position of Hon. Secretary on the National Executive of Social Care Ireland.

Deborah Gill

Disability SIG Member

Janine Zube

Disability SIG Member

Aishling Lambe

Disability SIG Member

Kalinda Healy

Disability SIG Member